Where to find relaxed theatre performances across the UK in 2020

When we went to see Snow White at the theatre last week, Little Bear had ants in his pants. He was a little tired and couldn’t get comfortable in his seat during the first half of the show so he kept standing up and sitting down.

 

Usually this would make me anxious for the people sitting around us but this time was different. This time there were lots of other children wriggling around and jumping up out of their seats. One little boy was sprawled out at the top of the stairs as we walked into the stalls. 

 

For the last two years we’ve booked tickets for the relaxed performance at the Alhambra Theatre in Bradford. 

 

Relaxed performances allow for noise and movement in the auditorium, some have a chill-out space for visitors who may need time away from the performance, and re-entry when needed. Some also have technical changes to the production, such as adjustments to light and sound effects, for those with sensory sensitivities.

 

A few weeks before the show, we received a visual story showing us exactly what would happen during the evening, including the story, who the characters were, and reminding us that the baddie was played by an actor who was actually very nice in real life. It would have been nice to be forewarned about the loud giant T Rex which would suddenly appear in the middle of the pantomime, scare the kids and then leave again but, that aside, The Bears enjoyed knowing what the characters looked like and generally what was going to unfold during the show. 

 

Relaxed performances are becoming more and more common in the theatre which is great. Here, I’ve put together a few of the shows – some aimed at children, others at adults – happening around the UK in 2020. 

 

YORKSHIRE

 

 

Everybody’s Talking About Jamie

Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield

Thursday 27 February at 2pm

 

Coriolanus

Crucible Theatre, Sheffield

Thursday 19 March 2020 at 1.15pm

 

Billionaire Boy

Grand Opera House, York

Friday 8 May 2020 7pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Bridlington Spa

Friday 15 May at 5pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Harrogate Theatre

Friday 29 May at 2pm

 

Lion King 

Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Tuesday 16 June 2020 at 5pm

 

Oscar And The Pink Lady

Crucible Theatre, Sheffield

Thursday 9 July at 1.30pm

 

Sleeping Beauty

Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield
Thursday 10 December at 10.15am

 

NORTH WEST

 

Manchester

 

ROYAL EXCHANGE THEATRE

 

Wuthering Heights

Tuesday 25 February 2020 at 2.30pm

 

Rockets and Blue Lights

Tuesday 24 March 2020 at 2.30pm

 

West Side Story

Tuesday 19 May 2020 at 2.30pm

 

The Glass Menagerie

Tuesday 16 June 2020 at 2.30pm

 

Electric Rosary

Tuesday 23 June 2020 at 2.30pm

 

Oh Mother

Tuesday 21 July 2020 at 2.30pm

 

Let The Right One In

Tuesday 28 July 2020 at 2.30pm

 

The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin and Stan Laurel (age 12+)

HOME Manchester

Thursday 6 February 2020 at 2pm

 

 

NORTH EAST

 

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Durham Gala Theatre

Wednesday 1 April 2020 at 4pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Hartlepool Town Hall Theatre

Saturday 4 April 2020 at 4pm

 

Humpty Dumpty

Theatre Royal, Newcastle

Sunday 6 December 2020 at midday

Tuesday 12 January 2021 at midday

 

 

SOUTH EAST

 

London

 

Matilda The Musical

Sunday 9 June 9 2020

Cambridge Theatre

 

NATIONAL THEATRE 

 

Relaxed Performances (freedom to move around)

 

All of Us

Dorfman Theatre

Saturday 4 April 2020 at 7.30pm

Tuesday 21 April 2020 7.30pm

Friday 1 May 2020 at 7.30pm

Tuesday 12 May 2020 at 3pm.

 

Sensory Adapted Performances 

A relaxed performance environment that also includes technical changes to the production, such as adjustments to light and sound effects, for those with sensory sensitivities.

 

Hamlet

Dorfman Theatre

Wednesday 8 April 2020 at 2pm

 

All of Us

Dorfman Theatre

Saturday 11 April 2020 at 3pm

Wednesday 15 April 2020 at 7.30pm

 

Lion King 

Lyceum Theatre, London 

May 31 2020 at 1.30pm

 

Oxford

 

Room On The Broom

Oxford Playhouse

Saturday 4 April 2020 at 4pm

 

Southampton

 

Lion King

Mayflower Theatre, Southampton

Wednesday 7 October 2020 at 1.30pm

 

Brighton

 

Zog

Brighton Dome

Friday, February 21 2020 at 11am

 

 

EAST OF ENGLAND

 

Norwich

 

Dick Whittington

Norwich Theatre Royal

Thursday 7 January 2021 at 6pm 

 

Room on the Broom

Norwich Playhouse, Norwich

Sunday 16 February at 2pm 

 

 

Suffolk

 

 

Ipswich

 

Messy

New Wolsey Studio, Ipswich

Saturday 15 February 2020 at 11am and 1.30pm

 

A Little Space

New Wolsey Studio, Ipswich

Wednesday 11 March 2020 at 1.30pm

 

Oliver Twist

New Wolsey Studio, Ipswich

Thursday 2 April 2020 at 10.30am

 

The Elves And The Shoemaker

New Wolsey Studio, Ipswich

Saturday 11 April 2020 at 5pm
 

 SOUTH WEST

 

 

THEATRE ROYAL BATH

 

Midnight (age 5+)

Sunday 2 February at 11.30am

 

The Naughty Fox (age 0-5)

Saturday 15 February 2020 to Monday 17 February 2020

11.30am and 3pm each day. All performances are relaxed

 

The Bear (age 3+)

Thursday 27 February 202  at 10am

 

Adrift (age 7+)

Friday 6 March 2020 at 1pm

 

Romeo and Juliet 

Saturday 28 March 2020, at 11.30am

 

A Christmas Carol

Sunday 29 March 2020 at 11.30am

 

Macbeth

Wednesday 3 April 2020 at 1pm

 

Bonhomme (age 5+)

Sunday 5 April 2020 at 11.30am

 

Meet Me A Tree (age 0-2)

Saturday 18 April 2020 at 10am, 12.30pm and 3pm

This show is naturally relaxed

 

WEST MIDLANDS 

 

 

BIRMINGHAM HIPPODROME

 

The Twisted Tale of Hansel and Gretel

February 14, 2020 1pm

February 15, 2020 2pm

 

BRB Swan Lake

Tuesday February 25, 2020 at Midday

 

Room on the Broom

Friday 22 May 2020 at 1pm  

 

Stratford-Upon-Avon

 

The Boy in the Dress

Royal Shakespeare Theatre

Thursday 13 February 2020 at 1pm

 

EAST MIDLANDS

 

 

The Strictly Live Tour 2020 

Motorpoint Arena in Nottingham

Wednesday 5 February 2020 at 2pm. 

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Buxton Opera House

Tuesday 7 April 2020 at 2pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Mansfield Palace Theatre

Tuesday 12 May 2020 at 4.30pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Corby The Core

Wednesday 13 May 2020 at 6pm

 

Little Red Riding Hood (Northern Ballet)

Derby Theatre

Tuesday 26 May at 2pm

 

 

WALES

 

 

Lion King

Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff

Thursday 20 August 2020 at 1.30pm

 

 

SCOTLAND

 

 

The Secret Garden

Eden Court Theatre, Inverness

Tuesday 18 February 2020 at 2pm

 

The Enemy

Queen’s Hall, Dunnoon

Wednesday 6 May 2020 at 7.30pm

 

Scottish Ballet’s The Nutcracker Inclusive

Festival Theatre, Edinburgh

Thursday 17 December 2020 at 2.30pm

 

 

  • If you found Where to find relaxed theatre performances across the UK in 2020 useful, please share it.

 

 

 

Comments 2

  1. This is so helpful. I wanted to try out a relaxed performance of Zog coming up locally at Easter but it clashes with when my husband is away. Not sure can do both boys on my own for something so different for them. Looks like there are other options we can try when my husband is around. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. This is super-helpful, thank you! Will be looking at ‘The Lion King’ in Southampton this autumn! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.